Beware of soy sauce in case of gluten intolerance



We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

Beware of soy sauce in case of gluten intolerance

Anyone suffering from gluten intolerance is advised to take a close look at the ingredients of sauces or soups. The German Celiac Society points out that otherwise it is often not clear which products contain this adhesive protein. However, some foods almost always contain gluten, for example soy sauce.

Soups, sauces, spice mixtures The smallest traces of people suffering from celiac disease (gluten intolerance) can lead to the common symptoms of abdominal pain, diarrhea, stool, nausea and vomiting. The only treatment option is a lifelong gluten-free diet. Many foods do not immediately show whether they contain the gluten protein. That is why it is particularly important for these people to carefully read the respective ingredient lists of, among other things, bound soups or sauces, according to the Deutsche Zöliakie-Gesellschaft (DZG) in Stuttgart. They often contain soy sauce, an Asian seasoning sauce made from soybeans, water, salt and grains. It is often produced with wheat containing gluten. But gluten-containing release agents or carriers are also often used in spice mixtures. Furthermore, caution is advised with sausage, pudding or ketchup. Lentils are actually naturally free of gluten, but because they are usually grown with mixed cereals, they can be contaminated as a result. The DZG therefore recommends reading lentils before preparation and removing any cereal grains. They should also be rinsed thoroughly before cooking.

Cleanliness is important Gluten is not only found in wheat, but also in other cereals such as rye, spelled, oats or barley. Rice, corn, millet, buckwheat and amaranth are free of gluten. Gluten-free foods should be kept above foods containing gluten so that they are not contaminated by falling traces of other products. The DZG also emphasizes that thorough kitchen hygiene is crucial for preparing truly gluten-free dishes. The best precaution is to thoroughly clean all utensils before use. Especially in kitchen machines, mixers or baking tins, gluten crumbs could be hidden in corners and crevices. Care should also be taken with wooden spoons or wooden chopping boards. (sb)

Also read:
Gluten intolerance: Ill from cereals
Health: Hotline for food allergies

Image: Benjamin Thorn / pixelio.de

Author and source information



Video: Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity


Previous Article

New surgical trend: breast lift instead of implants

Next Article

Pollen allergy: Impending shortness of breath during a thunderstorm